School is Open
 

Nurse Contacts

Nurse Contacts

  • Tracey Akers
    RN, BSN, NCSN, Nurse Coordinator

    trakers@warsawschools.org

    371-5096 ext. 2710

  • Brenda Bowers
    WCHS Nurse (BSN, RN)

    bbowers@warsawschools.org

    371-5099 ext. 2308

  • Lois Holst
    WCHS Nurse's Assistant

    lholst@warsawschools.org

    371-5099 ext. 2307

  • Andrea Godinez,
    Gateway Nurse (RN)

    agodinez@warsawschools.org

    371-5019 ext. 4036

  • Becky Bell
    Edgewood Nurse's Assistant

    bbell@warsawschools.org

    371-5096 ext. 2729

  • Joan Wells
    Lakeview Nurse (RN)

    jwells@warsawschools.org

    269-7211 ext. 3426

  • Julie Reed
    Claypool Nurse (RN)

    jreed@warsawschools.org

    566-2300 ext. 2830

  • Lisa Secrist
    Eisenhower Nurse (MSN, RN, NCSN)

    lsecrist@warsawschools.org

    269-7440 ext. 3805

  • Jeanine DeGeeter
    Harrison Nurse (BSN, RN)

    jdegeeter@warsawschools.org

    269-7533 ext. 3006

  • Marianne Caltrider
    Jefferson Nurse (BSN, RN)

    marianneholland@warsawschools.org

    267-7361 ext. 3104

  • Rachelle Himes
    Leesburg Nurse (RN)

    rhimes@warsawschools.org

    453-4121 ext. 3607

  • Stephenie Lee
    Lincoln Nurse (MSN, RN)

    slee@warsawschools.org

    267-7474 ext. 3205

  • Jessica Vander Molen
    Madison Nurse (BSN, RN)

    jvandermolen@warsawschools.org

    267-6231 ext. 3304

  • Randy Heinsman
    Washington Nurse (RN)

    rheinsman@warsawschools.org

    371-5097 ext. 2604

Health Services News

Health Services News

  • Fun in the Sun - Skin Safety
    Written by
    Fun in the Sun - Skin Safety Submitted by Stephenie Lee

    It is getting warmer outside and everyone is anxious to get out and soak up some rays. What a great feeling it is to have the sun shining on you. When outside swimming, jogging, gardening, or just playing around, be sure your skin is well protected.
    Cloudy days are when people are at most risk of sunburn because they feel that sunscreen is not necessary. The Skin Cancer Foundation reports that up to 80% of the sun’s UV rays pass through clouds making it just as easy to sunburn on overcast days.

    Take these steps recommended by the Skin Cancer Foundation to protect your skin and prevent skin cancer:

    • Seek the shade, especially between 10 AM and 4 PM.
    • Don’t get sunburned. The risk of melanoma doubles if you have more than 5 sunburns over the course of a lifetime.
    • Avoid tanning and never use UV tanning beds.
    • Cover up with clothing, including a broad-brimmed hat and UV-blocking sunglasses.
    • Use a broad spectrum (UVA/UVB) sunscreen with an SPF of 15 or higher every day. For extended outdoor activity, use a water-resistant, broad spectrum (UVA/UVB) sunscreen with an SPF of 30 or higher.
    • Apply 1 ounce (2 tablespoons) of sunscreen to your entire body 30 minutes before going outside. Reapply every two hours or after swimming or excessive sweating.
    • Keep newborns out of the sun. Sunscreens should be used on babies over the age of six months.
    • Examine your skin head-to-toe every month.
    • See a dermatologist at least once a year for a professional skin exam.
    • Be cautious when taking NSAIDS such as Aspirin, Ibuprofen, and Naproxen. They make you extra –sensitive to the sun so take special care if using these medications while being out in the sun.

    Be sure to visit the website www.skincancer.org  for more information relating to skin cancer and ways to prevent and detect it.
    Written on Thursday, 11 July 2019 15:25 in Health Services Read 205 times
WCS Logo
Dr. David Hoffert
Superintendent
Email
1 Administration Dr
Warsaw, IN 46580
(574) 371-5098
(574) 371-5095
 
To top of page
Modules in "off-canvas-right" will appear here.